European Parliament Committee voted visa-free regime for Ukraine

00:09, 27.09.2016Politics

The European Parliament Committee on Civil Liberties and Home Affairs (LIBE) voted in favor of introducing Ukraine in the list of countries with which the EU introduces the visa-free regime.

The corresponding vote, as reported by the Ukrainian media, was held at the committee meeting on September 26.

38 members of the committee voted for the decision, 4 against, and one abstained. It is worth noting that the members of the LIBE applauded the results of the voting.

The members of the committee rejected all the amendments to the report by Maria Gabriel with a proposal to abolish visas for Ukrainians.

The Committee also voted to start negotiations between the institutions regarding the visa-free regime for Ukraine.

It should be noted that the LIBE Committee plays a major role in matters of the visa-free regime in the European Parliament.

According to: Русская Весна